Mapping Applications

Posted: March 25, 2011 in Uncategorized

There is a variety of design tools to display Information Design like Social Media, Mapping Applications, 3D virtual worlds etc.

Mapping Application applies to one of the six ways of seeing and showing also: WHERE.

One of the well known Mapping Applications is Google Map for instance. Google is one of the most trusted search engines in the world. Everyone is fully aware of the excellence service provided including its mapping service.

Google Maps has a wide global coverage which is second to none of the other web-mapping services. It also facilitates its users to create their own profile. Google Map has an international look which is suitable to users of any region.

It can be used for searching addresses, roads and intersections, cities, towns, Business regions, coordinates, geographical features, user created contents, driving directions etc.

The maps provide detailed and relevant information to its users regarding places of their interest. Maps available on this site are extremely reliable and accurate. Google Maps has the comprehensive coverage of various significant locations across the globe. Even the tiniest location can be cited subject to its importance among people.

I am going to Giant Stadium this Saturday. I’ve never been there before. I used Google Map to find out how to get there in no time. I have all the information I needed for my little trip. Directions are easy to follow. I know how long it is going to take me to get there either by car or by train.

Comments
  1. Victor,
    I agree the mapping application is a very useful one. I also use google a lot to not only figure out where I am going but how far and how long to get there. I hope you had a good time at the Giant’s Stadium, at least you should have gotten there alright! Great Job!

    • tortadepatti says:

      Hi Victor –
      Great post on mapping application. I think Google Maps is an excellent tool, especially for brick and mortar retail store webpages or for event information pages. Often, you can link straight to Google Maps where users can get personalized directions right to your location.

      • Google Maps really is a great tool. I think very recently, they must have changed the way the maps were offered to customers. They are much more interactive. If you want to change the route of your trip, you can drag the “dots” to another road and it will reroute for you. I really love this feature. It gives more options if you want to see other things during your journey.

Leave a comment