La Guardia Airport

Posted: April 20, 2011 in Uncategorized

I decided to visit La Guardia Airport for the assignment of this module. It is incredible the application of Way finding and Interaction Design I saw. Let’s take a look.

This is entrance of the US Airways Terminal. The arrows, the symbols and the text give us a choice to reach our destination according to our needs. It is very concise. The use of black text against yellow background brings me attention to it.

I am still outside the airport. We see the big signage on top. Pointing to the arrivals.

Here it is another signage. This is where I took the bus. I had four options: one going to Manhattan via M60 and the other three going to Queens, Q33, Q48 and Q72. I took Q33 to get back home in 10 minutes. The different dot colors below the public buses sign indicate you may transfer to different trains also.


T
his map showed me where I was exactly. Again it also shows what buses you may take from there to Manhattan and or Queens. You also see the trains to make transfer to.

Inside the airport, the green signal directs people to taking a cab. I know it is empty. It was last sunday.

We see the big sign on top to claim baggage. As I continue to walk that way, I found more directions towards it. There was no sign that directed me that way.

Here I found the Visitor Information machine that allowed me to interact with it. It was very easy to do so. I had many options to choose from.

Here is a better close up of this machine. We see the many options we had at our convenience. I must admit it was very user friendly.


I pressed Whether to see how it works.


Here you are the display after I pressed it. See the whether temperature to your left: 56 F. 

This phone can provide customer to some information according to the options below. Signage and Interaction (phone) applied here.

The green sign shows to Rental Car along with the car sign in black. It is really hard to miss. We see a welcome display to La Guardia Airport.

I really enjoyed my trip to La Guardia Airport LGA. I must admit the usage of way finding were not difficult. I followed them and it made my trip very pleasant. This airport is not that big but, it is easy to reach your destiny whatever that may be. 

Comments
  1. Paul Baker says:

    I like that this airport uses the same info design methods as outlined in the Bureau Mijksenaar Case Study found in the Information Design Workbook. The color coded signs are similar to the ones shown in the case study. The green signs are meant to be similar to traffic or tansportation signs. I’m curious though… did you notice any airline signs while you were there? How were they displayed? I can imagine that information is what travellers look for the most, and if those signs are properly displayed, it can become rather confusing.

  2. Maribeth Weed says:

    Your presentation of Wayfinding is great. I have been to La Gaurdia and know it to be an airport where I am unlikely to become lost. This is the complete opposite of my airport that I responded to in one of our previous modules.

  3. Victor,
    Great Work! I loved your post, the simplicity and it totally got to the point.
    Sharon

    • Victor Marquez says:

      Thank you Sharon. Your posts are really good also. I am looking forward to keep studying with you.

      Best,

      Victor

  4. Neisha says:

    Your post is great and the photos really help illustrate how LGA employs the use of great Wayfinding design to keep its visitors pointed in the right direction!

  5. idannmarie says:

    Hi Victor,
    Great post! I don’t pay close attention to signage in airports, but then again I don’t travel a whole lot either. I was very intrigued and pleasantly surprised at the Visitor Information Interactive Machine–I have never seen one of those. Very handy and a great addition to the information design of this airport.
    Thank you!
    Ann Marie from class

  6. Elizabeth Hughes says:

    Great post Victor. I enjoyed the straightforward approach you took to critique the Laguardia Airport. I didn’t see any signage in languages other than English. I wonder how you felt this airport compared to the Florida airport you wrote about earlier in this course. Would Laguardia been as incomprehensible to you if you had first arrived there? Or was it more effectively designed?
    I have enjoyed your posts during this course.

    • Victor Marquez says:

      Hi Elizabeth,

      You are right, I did not notice any other signage in another language but English however; there was a help phone booth on my way from one terminal to another that says operators were available in English and Spanish. I took the phone asking for directions in Spanish. I was not surprised the operator did not speak Spanish but I was expecting someone to do so. I did not post it here because I had no evidence of it but my testimony. Anyway, if I had come here in the first place, I would’ve felt lost and overwhelmed no doubt. I am thankful to signage and learning English as well.
      I am looking forward to keep studying with you.

      Best,

      Victor

Leave a comment